Grant Hill Among Divisional Winners Announced

April 5, 2010

Suns forward Grant Hill is among the divisional winners for the the NBA Sportsmanship Award. (NBAE/Getty Images)

Already the only two-time winner of the NBA Sportsmanship Award, Suns forward Grant Hill could win a third Joe Dumars Trophy this season after it was announced today that Hill is among the 2009-10 divisional winners. Atlanta’s Al Horford, Boston’s Ray Allen, Cleveland’s Antawn Jamison, Denver’s Chauncey Billups and Houston’s Luis Scola were also selected by a five-member panel of former players as divisional winners for the 2009-10 NBA Sportsmanship Award.

The NBA Sportsmanship Award, designed to honor a player who best represents the ideals of sportsmanship on the court, is voted on by NBA players. The NBA will announce the winner after the regular season.

The 2009-10 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner will be presented with the Joe Dumars Trophy, named after the Hall of Famer and former Detroit Pistons great who played 14 seasons in the NBA and was the recipient of the inaugural NBA Sportsmanship Award in 1996. The six-time All-Star was selected in honor of his distinguished and dignified career and for symbolizing the tradition the NBA wants to recognize with this award.

Former NBA players Mike Bantom, Mark Jackson, Tom "Satch" Sanders, Kenny Smith and Eric Snow selected the six divisional winners from a pool of 30 team nominees. Each team nominated one of its players for this award.

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the league’s NBA Cares program efforts.

Following is a list of the all-time winners of the NBA Sportsmanship award:

Inaugural: Joe Dumars (1996)
1996-1997: Terrell Brandon, Cleveland
1997-1998: Avery Johnson, San Antonio
1998-1999: Hersey Hawkins, Seattle
1999-2000: Eric Snow, Philadelphia
2000-2001: David Robinson, San Antonio
2001-2002: Steve Smith, San Antonio
2002-2003: Ray Allen, Seattle
2003-2004: P.J. Brown, New Orleans

2004-2005: Grant Hill, Orlando
2005-2006: Elton Brand, Los Angeles Clippers
2006-2007: Luol Deng, Chicago

2007-2008: Grant Hill, Phoenix Suns